Brighter Futures Begin with HOPE.


JPS Establishes District-Wide p-16 Council

January 21st, 2016

Jackson Public Schools | jackson, MS


P-16 Council officers are (from left) Sherman Nunn, President; Erin Mauffray, Secretary; and Jason Clark, Vice President.

The Jackson Public School District established a District-wide Pre-Kindergarten through College (P-16) Council on January 14, 2016, at Murrah High School. The purpose of the P-16 Council is to engage and empower members of education, parent-teacher, civic, business, faith-based, and nonprofit community organizations to make policy recommendations for the purpose of providing every JPS scholar with a quality pre-K through post-secondary educational experience.

Members of the P-16 Council are represented by the following groups:

  • Parent Teacher Association and Parent Teacher Student Association members
  • Student Council members
  • Community leaders from government, business, and faith-based organizations
  • Community members who live in areas served by Jackson Public Schools
  • Employees of Jackson Public Schools

At the meeting, the P-16 Council selected Sherman Nunn as president, Jason Clark as vice president, and Erin Mauffray as secretary.

The remaining members of Jackson Public Schools’ first P-16 Council and the groups they represent are:

  • Kristen Fowler, Ward 1
  • Chantil Brown, Ward 2
  • Rosie Davis, Ward 3
  • Arlonda Leggett, Ward 4
  • Jacqueline Phillips, Ward 5
  • Christiane Williams, Ward 6
  • Tonja Murphy, Ward 7
  • Von Gordon, Community Leader
  • Prisca Evelyn Greenwood, Community Leader
  • Alexandria Powell, Community Leader
  • Susan Womack, Community Leader
  • Allyson Brown, Student Council
  • Jordan Jefferson, Student Council
  • Joshua Mannery, Student Council
  • Mary Sampson, Student Council
  • Regina Hutchins, JPS Employee
  • Migale Jones, JPS Employee
  • Genetra Robinson, JPS Employee
  • Michelle Henry, PTA/PTSA
  • Katyna Montgomery, PTA/PTSA
  • Patricia Woods, PTA/PTSA
  • Molly Bashay, Community Organization
  • Debra Burson, Ph.D., Community Organization
  • Amber May, Community Organization